KVM + Kimchi install script

I’ve written a script that installs and configures KVM for virtualization and Kimchi as a GUI web front end, complete with a custom link on the Quickbox Dashboard. I’ve tested it on my live machine and in VMs, both Debian 8.7 with a fresh Quickbox install. Haven’t tried it out on Ubuntu yet, but I’ll spin a VM up later to test.

You will have to reboot after the script successfully completes.

You must be root to run this script or it won’t work. I found a line of Stack Overflow that I thought would check for that and ask for elevation, but it didn’t seem to work on my production box.

This should be considered in the testing phase and only tried by people that can understand what the script is doing and are comfortable fixing any issues that may arise. I encourage any suggestions for improvement that you can think of. I’m new to scripting and welcome any advice.

I don’t have any users other than myself on my seedbox, which is a physical dedicated server, so this setup makes sense for me, but it probably doesn’t if you’re sharing a box or using a VPS or other virtual machine to run your instance of quickbox.

Hi, thanks for making this!

I’m currently installing it on Ubuntu 16.04, will report on how it went.

edit: Everything seems fine, apart from https errors, I’ll have to figure out how install my LetsEncrypt cert on nginx which is what the web UI seems to be running on.

edit2: If anyone else is facing the same problem, I edited /etc/nginx/conf.d/wok.conf to contain the same paths to certificate & private key I had in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/defaul-ssl.conf .

Glad to hear it’s working on Ubuntu 16, and thanks for the tip about the SSL.