Building a Huge Plex Library - How much data do I have?

Originally published at: https://quickbox.io/blog/building-a-huge-plex-library-how-much-data-do-i-have/

So for those who don’t know, I use GSuite and RClone to run my Plex Media Library. I’ve been adding data for around 2 years and I love seeing my data increase every single day with new TV Shows and new Movies being added.

I share my Plex Server with a few people and I’ve always said that my Plex Server is better than Netflix because I don’t delete stuff off the server. Once it’s downloaded, it’ll be there for life (or however long I keep running the server for).

Over on our Discord Server I recently shared an image of my current movie collection. I currently have over 3,000 movies that are available to watch on Plex at any time. I was so proud and so happy when I got to 1,000 movies on my server and it was an amazing feeling. But now to hit 3,000 it was great.

However, I have neglected TV Shows. My TV Show collection isn’t as extensive as I want it to be. At the time of writing this blog post, I have 777 TV Shows on my Plex Server. I really want to get this over 1,000 but it’s hard to find content that I want on the server.

I am working on building up my collection however, for those aspiring to have their own Netflix service that they control, it’s taken me over 2 years to build up the knowledge, best practices, and so much more to get to this point right here. However, I wanted to share how much data do I have stored.

I’m so excited to hit over a petabyte of data and I cannot wait to see this expand even more.

How big is your library? How do you manage your data directories and your Plex Libraries? Let me know on Discord!